Parisian Living (imagined)

I’m lucky enough to have lived rent free for the past three months. I’ve also been lucky enough to have met several friendly French people. One of these people I met during the interminable evening at the nightclub which I described a couple months ago. When I met her she offered me the use of her apartment while she was gone for Christmas. This was a generous offer; I don’t forget generous offers like that. And so it happens that tomorrow afternoon I will be leaving for Paris to stay in her apartment free of charge for six days. On the fourth day, I will be joined by someone special. Needless to say I’m looking forward to her visit and to the days the precede it. I will have a little taste of actually living in Paris and hope to make the best of my time there. I want to find a jazz club (nonexistent in Coulommiers) and a movie theater that shows French films instead of the typical Hollywood films that can be found at the Coulommiers cinema (which is overpriced anyway—or so I’ve heard). I also want to go to a few museums that I haven’t yet had an opportunity to visit, the Picasso museum and the Dali museum included. Hopefully I don’t get so carried away with plan-making that I forget to actually go see and do these things.

It will be nice having a base in Paris for a few days. I’m looking forward to being able to walk around a bit, return to Montmartre for a little rest, and then head back into town. I guess it will feel more like vacation in Paris than living in Paris. Who knows, maybe this will be the moment when I actually fall in love with Paris. It’s true that the thought of it has me a little giddy; maybe that’s a sign.

I’ve been on vacation from work since Friday. Other than an exciting couple days in Paris that consisted of meeting some French friends of one of the other English assistants in Coulommiers and going to a UVA/Sciences Po party hosted by some UVA girls who sadly are returning to Charlottesville next semester (if only we had met up more than once while we were all in Paris), I’ve been reading some more and watching some movies that were lent to me. I’ll be on vacation all the way until January 5th, the day my parents and sister come to visit me, so the feeling of being on vacation will extend until the day they leave a week and a half later. They’ll have a hotel room in Paris that will be able to accommodate me, so I’ll be spending even more time in Paris. Quelle chance!

Oh, by the way, Montaigne says, “Did we rightly understand the difference betwixt the impossible and the unusual, and betwixt that which is contrary to the order and course of nature and contrary to the common opinion of men, in not believing rashly, and on the other hand, in not being too incredulous, we should observe the rule of ‘Ne quid nimis’ [nothing in excess] enjoined by Chilo.” Listen to this guy; he’s smart.

A plus

7 thoughts on “Parisian Living (imagined)

  1. Mike says:

    Who the heck is Chilo?

    • jamesrnelson says:

      I think this must be him: “Chilon of Sparta (Χίλων or Χείλων; 6th century BC) was a Lacedaemonian and one of the Seven Sages of Greece.”

      Wikipedia also has this to say about him:

      Diogenes Laertius describes him as a writer of Elegiac poems, and attributes many sayings to him:

      “Do not speak evil of the dead.”
      “Honor old age.”
      “Prefer punishment to disgraceful gain; for the one is painful but once, but the other for one’s whole life.”
      “Do not laugh at a person in misfortune.”
      “If one is strong be also merciful, so that one’s neighbors may respect one rather than fear one.”
      “Learn how to regulate one’s own house well.”
      “Do not let one’s tongue outrun one’s sense.”
      “Restrain anger.”
      “Do not dislike divination.”
      “Do not desire what is impossible.”
      “Do not make too much haste on one’s road.”
      “Obey the laws.”

  2. Patrick says:

    You should try to find Jay-Z and Kanye while you’re in Paris.

  3. Mike says:

    I think I like Chilo better than Montaigne!

  4. Austin J. says:

    D*#n, Jimmy, it sounds like you’re have a great time there. Paris is already sweet, not speaking from experience, but most things are even better with free seasoning. Oh, and I talked to Ally a few days ago and she’s excited to see you too. Be sure to take lots of pictures and put them on here. Keep having fun man. Enjoy your holiday season.

  5. Allison says:

    Austin’s lying.

    Just kidding.

    I think the Picasso museum is still closed.

    (Not kidding. That wouldn’t be funny.)

Leave a Reply

