Not Quite a Mairie Marathon

 

 

 

The title here is an inside joke for people who read my blog back in its founding days.

“If we are mark’d to die, we are enow
To do our country loss; and if to live,
The fewer men, the greater share of honour.
God’s will! I pray thee, wish not one man more.
By Jove, I am not covetous for gold,
Nor care I who doth feed upon my cost;
It yearns me not if men my garments wear;
Such outward things dwell not in my desires.
But if it be a sin to covet honour,
I am the most offending soul alive.”

Well it’s not as far as the Mairie Marathon and it didn’t take as long, but it wasn’t as well planned either.  It was pretty far nonetheless.  Take a look at the map below if you don’t believe me.  All of the traced route was walked.  I wish it had been as interesting as Paris.  Unfortunately it wasn’t.  Over the course of the whole thing I only took 16 pictures.  If I were particularly keen on taking repetitive pictures of decrepit row houses I could have taken more than my memory card would have held.  However, I did manage to take a few pictures that I don’t think I’m flattering myself by calling atypical for DC.

ImageImage

Excited children construct ancient snow ruins from bizarre, climate-change-induced snowfall.

 

Image

 

I’ve never heard of her, but she has a statue in Lincoln Park opposite the great man himself.

Image

 

And here is that benevolent man.  Look at that little pillar; notice the axe bound by sticks?  A fasces…Etruscan symbol of power given heinous connotations by Italians and Germans during WWII.

Image

 

Stalactites on Florida Ave.

 

 

Image

Image

Image

 

Trinity Washington University (aka Trinity College)

 

 

Image

Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception.

And then I didn’t take any pictures for the second half of the walk.  Partially there was nothing striking, but most likely I was already too tired to find anything striking to take a picture of.

Leave a Reply

